Nicolas314

All my geeky stuff ends up here. Mostly Unix-related

EdgeRouter Lite

with 3 comments

erlite-3-900x500

My endless search for the ideal home router made me buy a piece of hardware called EdgeRouter Lite by Ubiquiti. The price point is sweet (around $100), making it a damn expensive home router or a damn cheap professional one. For that price you get:

  • A Cavium Octeon processor: 500MHz, two cores, rated 1000 bogomips, MIPS64 architecture, big-endian.
  • Half a gig of RAM
  • Three GBit NICs
  • No wireless
  • No fan, no noise
  • OS completely contained on an easily accessed USB stick on the motherboard, so essentially as much drive space as you want.

The last point is the most important: by just removing three small Phillips screws you can unplug the original USB thumb drive and replace it with your own, equipped with your favourite operating system. If everything fails you can always switch back to your previous state, put the screws back and call it a day. That should not void your warranty but I am no lawyer.

The provided operating system is called EdgeOS, based on Vyatta, itself based on Debian. It seems Vyatta development is now halted and Ubiquiti is now steering EdgeOS alone. I used EdgeOS on that router for about six months and have to admit being rather satisfied. The router is sold as the fastest switching home appliance on the market, claiming 1 million packets per second. In order to reach that kind of speed with a (dual-core) 500MHz processor on three GBit NICs you need additional specialized hardware that is only available through proprietary drivers provided with EdgeOS. So be it.

I have a beef with proprietary router firmware though: each vendor seems to feel obliged to invent their own management language. Cisco, Mikrotik, Ubiquiti, you name it. Everything is meant to be controlled from the command line, which is great, but instead of navigating through a familiar Unix environment you need to learn half a million new (proprietary) commands, their syntax, side effects, and how to commit, save, or restore configurations.  This is a royal pain in the butt and I have no desire to go get some training to configure a home appliance.

To be fair, open source versions have had the same issue for years, though some made a huge effort to provide good web-based GUIs for configuration and avoid having to invent a new configuration language altogether. Tomato and DD-WRT have really pushed things forward to reach a decent level of user-friendliness. You only need to know about networking and do not have to worry about learning yet another obscure syntax to handle those.

Too bad: both projects seem to be pretty much abandoned today. DD-WRT has not seen a stable release in almost a decade and Tomato still courageously lives on, maintained by a handful of dedicated devs working from home. The communities for Tomato and DD-WRT are dwindling fast in favour of OpenWRT.

OpenWRT is the most advanced open source router project today. It is well designed, based on a single syntax for configuration files, and supports pretty much every piece of router hardware under the sun. The project was recently forked by its own developers into the LEDE project, which is now the version I am following as closely as possible.

Back to the EdgeRouter Lite: what’s not to love?

Beyond the proprietary software and syntax, EdgeOS offers a web-based GUI that looks fancy and neat but covers only a very, very limited portion of what can be achieved through a command-line interface. This is very frustrating. I love command lines as your next geek but don’t force me to learn a syntax I will use nowhere else just to achieve mundane stuff.

After six months of customizing my home router to my own needs, I had gathered scripts lying around e.g. to extract a list of known MACs or some stats.  And when I updated EdgeOS to another minor version, everything fell apart.  That irked me to no end, pushing me once more into the arms of an open source alternative.

Support for alternative firmware for this router is not obvious to find.  OpenWRT has an incomplete wiki page about it. A couple of guys have succeeded in installing FreeBSD but I did not feel up to the task. Debian supports big-endian MIPS64 machines, and a project called DebWRT offers support for this router, merging both Debian and OpenWRT in a single solution. This is cool but I am a bit terrified about using a straight Linux distro to build a router. If all I have to handle iptables is a bash shell and miles of manual pages, this is not going to work, I hate the iptables syntax with a true passion. The unique config file format used by OpenWRT is a real blessing, there is no way I am going back to one config file format per daemon.

So I started from scratch, built my very own version of a LEDE instance, including all the software I want to run on this box. The process is error-prone and it took me several evenings to get straight. In order not to lose information, I will be detailing everything I did in a next post, hoping it could be useful for someone else.

The net result is a pure LEDE box that has been running without hiccups for a few days now. Configuring routes, VPN, DHCP, DNS is a walk in the park thanks to user-friendly OpenWRT. All my scripts are working again, I can handle backups myself, and I even installed dedicated web and Samba servers. Next step will be to install an ad-blocking name server.

I am certainly losing in terms of performance but I won’t see the difference. Without proprietary drivers, hardware acceleration is gone.  This should not be an issue considering my home GBit network is currently handled by a separate switch and my Internet connection is limited to a mere 20MBit/s, magnitudes below what the router needs to provide. The day I get a GBit Internet connection at home, I will always have a choice to switch back to EdgeOS with just one unplug/plug of a USB key. Or maybe someone will have reverse-engineered the proprietary drivers by then?

There is one alternative I have been looking deep into: using pfSense or OPNsense to build my own firewall. The approach sounds good. I believe the BSD family is technically a lot better than anything Linux-based. This is particularly true in terms of network security software.

Trouble is: pfSense/OPNsense is extremely greedy. You can build a 15 euro router with OpenWRT but you need PC-sized gear to run pfSense, including at least 1 GB of memory and a lot more than mere megabytes of storage (OpenWRT fits in just 4 megs). The cost of a pfSense appliance can easily run in 400-500 euros, which does not make any sense from a budget point of view.  Most people going down that road recommend re-purposing an old PC for the task, but I have absolutely no intention of storing a hungry 300W loud old PC box next to my 20Mbit/s DSL modem, this would be insane.

There lies the whole beauty of this exercise: find the cheapest, least power-hungry, and most efficient way to set up a home routing solution that is easy and fun to configure, flexible enough, and secure. I stopped building my own PCs years ago and cover that need now by building small appliances from scratch, compiling the whole OS myself.

Tinkering is fun!

Written by nicolas314

Wednesday 5 October 2016 at 10:03 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Take a look at Ars Technica they have some nice articles about building and performance testing your own router/firewall. I am a big fan of the Dell Optiplex line x80 or x90 would be as old as I would go and I really like the x010 and x020 lines. I picked up a 7020 micro (that model and above they call the USFF models micro) for $120. A 3010 USFF for $80. They often have low power CPUs and are very small. I have a 4th gem core i5 on the 3010 with 8gb of ram. It runs ESXi perfectly and I run a VM with OPNSense on it. I also have a few other VMs that I spin up to test other firewall OS’s.

    Rafael

    Sunday 23 July 2017 at 10:14 am

    • Nice gig! Curious to know how much power this needs though. Have you measured it?

      nicolas314

      Sunday 23 July 2017 at 10:17 am

  2. I can put a power meter on it when I get a chance to power it down. I would guess the CPU will be the big factor.

    Rafael

    Sunday 23 July 2017 at 5:37 pm


Leave a Reply

